Order Vegan at Your Favorite Fast Food Chains – The Complete Guide

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
young woman standing in a restaurant drinking a soft drink from subway

The phrase “fast food” tends to relate to hamburgers, fries, hot dogs or fried chicken. Going out to eat at places like Mcdonald’s, Burger King, or Kentucky Fried Chicken with family or friends can be a big challenge if you’re a vegetarian. While you have your plans and know what to look for, you may be surprised at the options you have to eat.

It is important to note that there could be variations from one country to another. While it may be easier in one country, it may be harder in others to find vegetarian options in fast food restaurants, depending on factors such as, how strong is the vegetarian movement or the availability of catering to vegetarians. And although this article has some tips for vegans, it is difficult to find vegan options due to food restriction.

Fast Food Restaurants with Vegan Options

Take advantage of the healthy menu options. Search beyond the common places where they serve salads. For those in the United States, some great examples to explore include:

Vegan Tacco in paper box with a mexican softdrink next to it

1. Taco Bell

Have you ever noticed that many ingredients of delicious Mexican food are also vegan? Beans, potatoes, tortillas, guacamole and rice in Taco Bell do not contain animal products, so basically anything can be made vegan. The easiest way to order vegan in the chain is to replace the meat with beans (at no additional cost) and asking for “fresh style”, so that the cheese and sour cream will be replaced with pico de gallo.

Let’s look at a few Menu options thus:

Tacos Salad

Replace the meat with beans and remove the sour cream and cheese. You can also add rice, potatoes, guacamole and red sauce to give it more flavor.

Tacos

Ask for beans instead of meat and say the magic words “cool style”. Add guacamole to make the tacos extra delicious.

Mexican Pizza

Replace the meat with beans and remove the cheese. Add guacamole or take it home and put it in the microwave with a little vegan cheese on top.

young woman with glasses holding a starbucks coffee cup in her hand

2. Starbucks

Starbucks offers pita sandwiches, scones, muffins, all available in the United States. You can replace the traditional cow milk with soy, coconut or almond milk.

New options include; Vegan Wrap with Falafel & Slaw and a Jalepeño Kale & Slaw Wrap. New dessert options include Vegan Chocolate & Raspberry Cake (a chocolate cake with raspberry and chocolate frosting, topped with dried raspberries) and a Mango with Lime Fruit Pot.

young woman standing in a restaurant drinking a soft drink from subway

3. Subway

Subway and Quiznos are highly recommended restaurants for vegetarians. You can consume sandwiches with all kinds of vegetables. First decide if you will order a salad or a sandwich. If you order a sandwich, order the Veggie Delite and go to step one. Do you prefer a salad? Order the Veggie Delite salad and go to step two.

You can choose one of these bread options:

  • Hearty Italian
  • Italian
  • Sourdough

For the vegetables, here are some great options;

  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Red onion
  • Green peppers
  • Cucumbers
  • Olives
  • Spinach
  • Pickles
  • Add guacamole or avocado
  • Jalapeños

Subway has the following sandwich options (vary in each branch):

  • Apple slices
  • Lay brand fries
  • SunChips Original
  • Baked potato chips Lay brand
Big pizza with vegan cheese and salami pieces

4. Pizza Hut

Ask for the normal sauce or the sweet for pizza and the masses Thin’N Crispy or the Hand-Tossed (some of the others are not vegan). Go crazy with vegetable toppings!

Bono: the mass of the desserts is also vegan! Other new additions include the classic margarita; one with avocado and vegetables; and one with assorted vegetables and spicy sauce.

5. Dominos

Domino’s pizza can leave you completely satisfied. You will get countless variations with vegan toppings. Vegans should know if the pizza contains eggs.

Three happy girls standing in front of a mc donalds restaurant

6. McDonalds

For vegans, the new McDonald’s hamburger is a great option. It is a vegan sauce specially created for the occasion and served in a completely vegan bread without milk, eggs or butter. It is made with soy, which is accompanied by tomato, lettuce, pickled pickles.

7. Burger King

This restaurant offers vegetarian burgers that include vegetables or you can order the classic Whopper burger without meat (only with vegetables, bread, and condiments).

Other places where they include food for vegetarians are Hard Rock Coffee, Denny’s, Chili’s, Johnny Rockets, Ruby Tuesday, and Red Robin.

Box filled with six donuts and a cup of coffee on a table

8. Dunkin Donuts

Most Dunkin Donuts are vegetarian, but not totally vegan; Be sure to check what you are ordering. Their bread contain an ingredient derived from duck feathers. The L-Cysteine ​​protein makes these bread not suitable. So make sure that if you are vegan do not consume it.

our recommendation

Fuss-Free Vegan: 101 Everyday Comfort Food Favorites, Veganized by Sam Turnbull

Rating

5/5

Easy Hacks to Order Vegan

Let’s look at a step by step guide that would help you as a vegan when ordering food in big fast food chains.

Waiter serves vegan fast food on a large tablet

1. Prepare to help the waiter

 If you already have a good idea about what you can actually do to change the food options from a non-vegetarian to something vegan, do not be afraid to share your idea and describe how possible it is. The waiter or server may be difficult to convince but explain clearly, be friendly, and talk to him in a subtle manner about your suggestions. An excellent option is to order a vegan appetizer accompanied by portions of cooked vegetables. Ordering a special appetizer is not much to ask compared to a normal-sized meal course.

  • You shouldn’t be afraid or feel shy to ask the manager some questions. Show confidence! After all, being a client, you can actually ask for the specific ingredients of a meal. For those foods you can cook such as the French fries, you can ask if they use the same oil as with the meat. They can also help you find certain foods that are vegetarian and that are probably not listed on the menu. Ask about salads, for example, salads with cooked eggs.

 

  • You need to be more assertive in this case and always maintain your firm position but in a kind and modest manner.
Man with sunglasses looks around with blurred McDonalds logo in the background

2. Keep a wide range of fast food options

 Fast food is not only found in large franchises like Mcdonald’s. Other places where they serve dinners or fried food also offer you fast food options, from Chinese to Mexican. And if they are in your locality then, it’s possible that they will know you better. Hence, they will be more than happy to cook something special. So, it’s good that you make friends with the owners.

French fries fried in large industrial deep fryer

3. Keep in mind the things you should be careful about

Knowing what to avoid when you eat fast food is very important. When you walk into any fast food, there are things you should look out for in those diets. Let’s look at them thus:

Fried food:

What is used to fry food? Beef fat, chicken butter, or some other fat derivative is used, if that is the case you will not be able to eat. This affects everything from potato chips to donuts.

Jelly:

Jelly, and all this kind of food. See the gelatin in food products, from cheesecake to your shake. Some condiments may also have gelatin.

Drinks:

If you cannot consume milk or milk products and prefer soy drinks, keep in mind that some beverages may contain dairy products.

Bakery items:

Was margarine or animal fat used? The cheapest food is often made with animal derivatives such as margarine or fat because it keeps costs down, this impacts the food including pizza, pasta, and cakes.

Sauces and dressings with meat and fish flavor:

Many condiments may contain fat, oil, and flavor from animal sources. Avoid dressings in salads and other condiments if you are not sure they are vegan.

The place where it is cooked:

If the food is cooked on the same grill, in the same stove where the meat is cooked, then there is a great risk of contamination. For example, it can be difficult to keep meat away from vegetables if both are cooked at the same time.

Stacked vegan donuts and a cup of coffee on a light wooden table

4. Enjoy the breakfasts

Much of the food at breakfast is healthy, and it can be a good choice for vegans. This time of day is not very easy for vegetarians since breakfasts carry eggs and dairy regularly. So, it is important that you look for breakfast with fruit and oatmeal. Some great breakfast options include but not limited to;

Fruit Parfait and hash browns (as long as they contain vegetable fat) beans, sandwiches, cookies, even small muffins.

Big vegan hamburger with french fries next to it

5. Select from the menu

It is not necessary that you ask for a complete combo to satisfy you. Find a range of items such as mashed potatoes, corn, or fruit. You can even combine several things to make a completely vegetarian dish if you are creative enough.

6. Look in the children's menu

A children’s menu contains many vegetable options such as macaroni and cheese, tomato paste, and cheese sandwiches. Even the children’s menu offers either vegetables or fruit (apples in pieces) and many drinks (apple, milk, or water game). You can explore this great option, besides your diet is not a conventional one.

Vegan pizza is shared at the same time by four people

7. Exchange items with your friends

Another great idea is to exchange with your friends. You can give them your meat in exchange for their vegetables. This depends on how fussy they are because you have had the meat on your plate; sometimes, the standards are forgotten, and in many cases, you can eat vegetables even if you did not order meat. You can share and they will be happy with it.

8. Order soy milk in coffee shops

You should bear in mind that at Starbucks, caramel syrup is vegan. The caramel sauce contains dairy. You should also take into account that in some places the same towel is used to clean the steam of espresso coffee between those who have regular milk, soy milk, and chai.

Some last Vegan Tips & Tricks

If you are going to travel and you know you will be with friends who do not give importance to the place where they eat, you can take something with you in your bag. Most likely, the fast food staff will not care much if you are not eating something from the place, and if so, you can inform them that you did because they do not include food that fits your dietary needs. You can also buy a lake like a soda or a cup of coffee.

our recommendation

Fuss-Free Vegan: 101 Everyday Comfort Food Favorites, Veganized by Sam Turnbull

Rating

5/5
All articles loaded
No more articles to load
All articles loaded
No more articles to load